PANAJI: Former Minister Pandurang alias Deepak Dhavalikar was elected President of oldest regional M G Party at the general body meeting held at Gomantak Maratha Samaj hall, Panaji on Sunday.

Deepak polled 409 votes as against his rival Nilesh Patekar who could secure only 33 votes.

Pratap Fadte was elected Working President defeating Hemant Pilgaonkar by a margin of 313 votes. Fadte polled 374 votes and Pilgaonkar got 61 votes.

Krishnanth Divkar was elected Vice President of the Party. In the triangular battle, he defeated Amrut Agarwadekar and Kishor Parwar. Divkar obtained 376 votes while, Agarwadekar and Parwar polled 30 and 16 votes respectively.

R A Mardolkar and Anant Shambhu Naik were already declared elected unopposed as General Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

The 11 members elected on the party’s central committee are Sudip Korgaonkar (415 votes), Francis Lobo (401), Raju Naik (398), Naresh Gaude (395), Sandeep Vernekar (393), Shripad Yende (391), Anil Naik (391), Mahesh Satelkar (39)),Shivdas Gawade (384), Mahesh Panshikar (378) and Raghoba Gawade (262).

Subhash Parkar (195), Chandrashekhar Khadapkar (42) and Prabhakar Mulik (31) were defeated.       

Sunil Shet was the returning officer for the organisational elections.

The general body passed various resolutions including confirmation of the expulsion of former MLA and former general secretary Lavu Mamledar for anti-party activities and to infuse young blood in the party by appealing to veteran members above 65 years not to contest organisational elections and to guide new members.

The general body decided to field and support party members and workers in the ensuing municipal elections though elections are not fought on party lines and to reconstitute committees of Assembly Constituencies.

In another resolution, the general body empowered the central committee to co-opt members and to appoint one of the elected executive members as one of its vice presidents.

Dhavalikar said that the party will nominate 15-member committees of mahilas and youth as delegates of the party.