Five new block Presidents appointed – congress

  1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. Five new block Presidents appointed – congress

National Chairman of All India Unorganised Workers Congress, Shri. Arbind Singh, addressed the Goan media and described the aims and objectives of the department under Indian National Congress and spoke at length about how the team in Goa will work for the betterment of the alienated workers, who are subject to extensive exploitation.

Shri Arbind Singh stated that the AIUWC was set up in 2017 to connect with the unorganised sector and give their grievances a voice, get them their due through active engagement and also through policy action wherever Congress party has a government. AIUWC has been set up in 25 states across India, and with the entry in Goa, the organisation has the aim of expanding its footprint.

State Coordinator for AIUWC Goa, Devsurabhee Yaduvanshi explained the breakup of the unorganised sector in Goa and how the growing team in the state will aim at reaching people from numerous professions across the state. She further highlighted that the recent Covid scheme for the unorganised workers, launched by the BJP government in Goa has played a sick joke by providing a one time settlement scheme that provides a meagre sum of five thousand rupees.

Furthermore, Devsurabhee Yaduvanshi stated that gaining access to this sum is an arduous process that involves interacting with various government offices, which doesn’t justify the sum of money received in the end. Shri. Arbind Singh added that the Nyay Scheme, mentioned in the Indian National Congress manifesto, seeks to provide a monthly sum of six thousand rupees for every family of unorganised workers. This would provide the essential demand side push to, by providing people subsistence and a disposable income that will further increase circulation in the economy, leading to long term recovery. He further stated that the Nyay scheme will surely be implemented when the Congress government gets formed in Goa.

During the press conference, block President of St. Andre, Joyce Mary Dias and block President of St. Cruz, Sanjay Ghatwal were formally introduced as the first two office bearers of AIUWC in Goa. Following this, Shri. Arbind Singh appointed four new block Presidents for AIUWC Goa: Prabhav Mhambrey (Panjim), Francisco Fernandes (Nuvem), Arun Galve (Cortalim) and Sachin Hargi (Dabolim).

Previous Post
Next Post
Sushmita Jadhav brace helps FC Goa down Compassion FC